I am worthy of hire after all…

I am so glad these last two weeks are over.  My stomach was in a constant knot for about 4 days, and I can finally relax.  I was offered a position with the company that I interviewed for… twice.   The anticipation over wondering whether I’d be found suitable for employment with this company was agonizing, and it became much more than that.  Last Wednesday, I received a call and was informed that they wanted to offer me the position… we talked money briefly, and the salary was competitive.  I was beginning to get a mental picture of me working there.

Then my previous employer sought after me with a rehire offer, and I accepted it.  I’ve already established a reputation with them, and not starting over is something that was pretty enticing.  The pitfalls experienced working for them before, I am told, have been alleviated.  I’m looking for a long-term relationship with a company that will recognize my talent and knowledge base, and know how to best utilize both.  And how funny that as soon as I re-enter the workforce, the headhunters start calling trying to relocate me and bring me aboard their teams.  I suppose I’m flattered.  I’m not sure what’s going to happen with my writing in the meantime, I can only hope the experiences that lie ahead will fuel some strange writing phenomenon.   So far… it hasn’t.

After almost a week back on the job, I was feeling pretty good…then it happened.  A phone altercation that quickly reminded me why the business that has chosen me is a tough one to love.  I’m not a fan of adults behaving like toddlers, and I realize I’ll have to use the same psychological tools on some adults that I use on my children in order to make them realize they are being off-putting.  When I encounter people who are not aligned with me mentally, or are not contributing to my same end goal (which is usually to provide exemplary service to a client)… I drop them and move on to someone who will not caring if I hurt their feelings when doing so…a character flaw that needs some work.  After all, we’re all human beings and sometimes a day’s events can just put you in a bad place and when that happens the people around you can suffer by no fault of their own.   But that doesn’t mean I have time for people who emit toxic negative energy into the atmosphere, much less directly at me, so I’ll need to figure out where the lemonade is in there.   If there’s one thing that debating reductionist scientists have proven to me, it’s that life’s too short to waste any of it arguing with people who will refuse to see merit in anything you say or do.

2 Responses to “I am worthy of hire after all…”

  1. Zed Says:

    I believe the reason every job has its share of angst is that “work” provides us the opportunity to learn the lesson: I am you, you are me, we are them and they are us. No matter what the job, our duty is service, even when there are moments in every day that we’d rather BE served.
    In the end, No bees, No honey; No work, No money. Service feeds us. And that’s probably how it should be.


Leave a Reply

